Guest Post: Blueberries!

Hello internet! My name is Kimberly and I have been invited to do a guest blog post.  Now while this may not be exciting for you, it is for me as it’s my first time doing something like this.  That being said, I am not a professional writer or blogger, so be nice.

I love food.  Plain and simple.  Another thing I love is summer.  There are so many reasons summer is great, but I won’t bore you with all of them.  Just one: blueberries!  In the U.S., summer is the peak of blueberry season.  I’m sure you’ve heard by now that blueberries are not only delicious, but they are good for you!  They are packed with antioxidants, fiber, and vitamin C.  Even better, they are low in calories so feel free to indulge a little 😉

I was given a gallon bag of fresh blueberries harvested from a nearby farm.  While I can eat several handfuls at a time (and I did), I knew I needed to find a variety of ways to use them.

The first thing on my list was this lemon blueberry cream pie.  I made this last year and it is amazeballs.  It is decadent, sweet, tangy and so much more.  My only deviation is I use Cool Whip to top the pie.  I typically make healthy items, this pie is an exception & absolutely worth it.

 

Next, I made these paleo blueberry muffins.  They turned out sooo good!  They are pretty filling too which is always nice.  I may have doubled the blueberries because why not?

20160801_193109

Last were these incredible little blueberry yogurt cookies.  I know, yogurt in a cookie sounds a little weird, but apparently only 13 calories a cookie.  Yes, I’ll take another.  I would suggest a hint less salt than what the recipe calls for. Be careful, these are slightly addictive.

20160801_193021

If you try any of these recipes, feel free to drop a comment & let me know what you think.  Happy blueberry season!

Leave a Reply

