Pickled Hot Peppers

Work has been suuuuuper busy, hence why it’s taken me nearly 2 weeks to blog about these sweet, darling hot peppas – but finally sitting down!

I personally love pickling, especially a quick pickle that gives your vegetable a little brininess, but still keeps it semi-fresh and light. And with the spice level in these peppers, they almost NEED to be pickled in order to tame some of the heat down.

1

I picked all of the peppers from my parents garden – which was overflowing with them! & look how cute they grow 🙂

 

In a large pot, bring the following to a boil:

 

  • 2 cups apple cider vinegar
  • 2 cups water
  • 2-3 tablespoons of honey (I used wild honey & it really made a difference!)
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic, peeled and smashed
  • 2 tablespoons of salt
2

*To break up some of that heat, I added in a few bell peppers*

I cannot stress this next part enough — WEAR GLOVES WHEN CUTTING YOUR PEPPERS! If you are not going to wear gloves, do not do this! I thought I was going to be a badass, and would be completely fine… I spent most of the night sticking my hands in anything and everything I could find. Yogurt, ice cubs, hydrogen peroxide, olive oil – you name it, I probably tried it. So don’t be like me! Wear gloves.

 

3

Cut all of your peppers into small rings & be sure to de-seed them. I found the easiest way to be cutting off the tops and then shaking/rolling the peppers so the seeds fell out on their own

Take off the boiling liquid and let it cool for 5- 10 minutes. In the meantime, fill up the jars with all of your peppers. The peppers should hit close to the top of the jars. Then cover all the jars with the liquid and seal tightly. (I added a few sliced purple onions to my jars too)

4.jpg

Let the peppers hang out in the fridge for a few days before opening up to enjoy! They last about 1 month

Leave a Reply

