Father’s Day Brunch

I typically don’t like all of the “hallmark holidays” created to just gear up advertisements and revenue, but this one in particular – Father Day, I will oblige to. Although you should make each day a special one, it’s never a bad thing to dedicate a whole day of the year in recognizing your father, and just how much he means to you.

Perhaps it was the horrific incident in Orlando that has me more nostalgic and emotional this week, but I really wanted to make the most out of this day, and let my dad (and mom) know how much I love them, and how truly lucky I am to have them in my life.

Thinking back on my childhood, I spent a lot of it with my grandfather when my parents moved to the U.S. Although I was fairly young, I believe those years of my childhood had a profound impact on my life. My grandfather was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes at the age of 42, so he stayed home with me while my grandmother worked. We were inseparable; from milking our cows at 6am, to all the other farming we did together until the evening. My days were filled with excitement, and I had so much love and admiration for my grandfather, he was everything to me.FullSizeRender

When I moved to the U.S., my parents were both working two jobs and could only afford one car. So my mom worked nights so that she could take me to school while my dad worked during the day and spent evenings with me. Needless to say, we had a lot of steak nights growing up, one of the two dishes my dad mastered (he makes killer eggs too) and watched The Sopranos every evening. We spent a lot of time outside on the weekends. My dad taught me how to ride a bike, fish, and play soccer, while the Sopranos taught me how to properly swear and dispose of a body, should I ever need to know…

Words will never be enough to express how much I love both of these men, and I will be eternally grateful to them for making me the (wo)man I am today.

I typically go home for father’s day, but this year I wanted to have my parent’s over to my apartment. I made a Spanish – inspired brunch menu and we headed to the beach for a perfect Sunday!IMG_6889

Recipes for the below items to come (& our two desserts!)…brunch

But my favorite, and clearly THE easiest item to assemble…melon

HAPPY FATHER’S DAY!

Leave a Reply

